EMPOWERISM = EMPOWER + TOURISM

ABOUT EMPOWERISM

Empowerism is committed to encouraging, educating, connecting and supporting.

We believe that all potential and resources should be used fairly and equitable to promote more sustainable tourism and contribute to a more social society. The fifth goal of the UN’s 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (SDG) includes global gender equality. The tourism industry can play an important role in achieving this goal. More than half (54%) of the people working in tourism are women. Most of the students who have chosen tourism studies are also female. Looking at the management level, however, there is still a clear imbalance. We want to change that.

We are convinced that you can only get on together to make a difference.

We do not want “we against them”. It is about people supporting, listening and working together regardless of gender, origin, beliefs, physical or mental constitution.

We play a part in contributing to make tourism more socially equitable and sustainable.

Isabell Prior
Isabell PriorM.A.
Globetrotter, feminist, empowerist. Isabell was infected with the travel bug early on. That’s why she studied anthropology and sociology in Heidelberg, Germany. Isabell wrote her bachelor’s thesis on volunteerism and was confronted with the dark side of tourism during her research. To help shape tourism in a more sustainable way, she completed a master’s degree in sustainable tourism management in Eberswalde, Germany. She wrote her master’s thesis about the influencing factors on female career development in tourism industry. That’s when the idea of Empowerism was born.
Lisa Klakow
Lisa KlakowB.Sc.
World traveler, all-rounder, empowerist. Lisa studied economics at the European University Viadrina and then plunged into work. A trip to Vietnam finally led her to give up her work as a research assistant and team lead to tackle a new challenge. In 2017 she started her master’s degree in sustainable tourism management. In her master’s thesis, she dealt with the compatibility of work and family of mompreneurs in the tourism industry.

BLOG

We present scientific studies and lectures from the tourism industry. They are current and understandable for everyone. Some will astonish you, make others ponder and others should give you courage and inspire. Are you missing a topic or would you like to become a guest author? Then contact us and actively help shape Empowerism. We look forward to you.

These exciting topics await you

WHAT’S NEXT?!

75%
50%
30%

EVENTS

Due to the current Corona situation, you will find more exciting webinars and online sessions here instead of events.

For events, please check whether they actually take place.

The FEMALE FUTURE FORCE DAY focuses on your personal, professional and social development. The conference offers you exciting lectures, panels, inter [...]

GET SOCIAL

Empowerism is a movement that you can actively shape. Get in touch with us. Tell us what you think, send us suggestions / criticism / praise. We look forward to reading from you.

CONTACT

Lovely that you’re here! Do you have questions, comments, criticism or praise? Are you a speaker and would like to be included in our pool of speakers? Then write us and we look forward to your message!

EMPOWERISM = EMPOWER + TOURISM

ÜBER EMPOWERISM

Empowerism hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, zu ermutigen, aufzuklären, zu verbinden und zu unterstützen.

Wir finden, dass alle Potenziale und Ressourcen fair und gerecht genutzt werden sollten, um einen nachhaltigeren Tourismus zu fördern und zu einer sozialeren Gesellschaft beizutragen. Das fünfte Ziel der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung (kurz SDG) der UN beinhaltet die weltweite Geschlechtergleichheit. Beim Erreichen dieser Zielsetzung kann die Tourismuswirtschaft eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Mehr als die Hälfte (54%), der im Tourismus arbeitenden Menschen, ist weiblich. Die meisten Studierenden, die touristische Studiengänge gewählt haben, sind ebenfalls weiblich. Betrachtet man die Führungsebene, fällt jedoch nach wie vor ein deutliches Ungleichgewicht auf. Das wollen wir ändern.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass man nur zusammen weiterkommt und etwas bewirken kann.

Wir wollen kein „Wir gegen Die“. Es geht darum, dass Menschen aller Geschlechter und egal welcher Herkunft, Glaubensrichtungen, körperlich oder geistiger Verfassung, sich unterstützen, zu hören und zusammenarbeiten.

Wir möchten dazu beitragen, dass der Tourismus sozial gerechter und nachhaltiger wird.

Isabell Prior
Isabell PriorM.A.
Globetrotter, Feministin, Empoweristin. Schon früh wurde sie mit dem Reisevirus infiziert. Studierte unter anderem deswegen Ethnologie und Soziologie in Heidelberg. Ihre Bachelorarbeit schrieb Isabell über Voluntourismus und wurde bei ihrer Studie mit den Schattenseiten des Tourismus konfrontiert. Um Tourismus nachhaltiger mit zu gestalten, absolvierte sie einen Master im Nachhaltigen Tourismusmanagement in Eberswalde. Ihre Masterarbeit schrieb sie über die Einflussfaktoren auf weibliche Karriereentwicklung im Tourismus. Da wurde die Idee von Empowerism geboren.
Lisa Klakow
Lisa KlakowB.Sc.
Weltenbummlerin, Allrounderin, Empoweristin. Lisa studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Europa-Universität Viadrina und stürzte sich danach ins Arbeitsleben. Eine Reise nach Vietnam führte schließlich dazu, dass sie ihre Tätigkeit als Research Assistant und Team Lead aufgab und sich einer neuen Herausforderung widmete. 2017 begann sie ihr Masterstudium im Nachhaltigen Tourismusmanagement, welches sie erfolgreich 2020 abschloss. In ihrer Masterarbeit befasste sie sich mit der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie von Mompreneurs in der Tourismuswirtschaft.

BLOG

Wir stellen Dir wissenschaftliche Studien und Vorträge aus der Tourismusbranche vor. Sie sind aktuell und für jeden verständlich. Einige werden Dich erstaunen, andere zum Grübeln bringen und wieder andere sollen Dir Mut machen. Dir fehlt ein Thema oder Du möchtest gerne Gastautor*in werden? Dann kontaktiere uns und gestalte Empowerism aktiv mit. Wir freuen uns auf Dich.

Diese spannenden Themen erwarten Dich

WHAT’S NEXT?!

75%
50%
30%

EVENTS

Aufgrund der aktuellen Corona-Situation findest Du vor allem spannende Webinars und Onlinevorträge hier.

Bei Veranstaltungen überprüfe bitte, ob sie tatsächlich stattfinden.

GET SOCIAL

Empowerism ist eine Bewegung, die Du aktiv mitgestalten kannst. Trete mit uns in Kontakt. Sag uns, was Du denkst, schick uns Anregungen/Kritik/Lob. Wir freuen uns von Dir zu lesen.

KONTAKT

Schön, dass Du da bist! Du hast Fragen, Anmerkungen, Kritik oder Lob? Du bist Speakerin und möchtest in unseren Speakerinnen-Pool aufgenommen werden? Dann schreib uns wir freuen uns auf Deine Nachricht!